Elected Representatives


The Weld County Council is charged with reviewing all aspects of County government and to make periodic written reports to the people. The Council invites Weld County residents and employees to present their comments, ideas, or concerns regarding Weld County government for the Council to review. 

Rupert Parchment

District 1
Term ends: 12/31/2024
email: countycouncil@weldgov.com
Phone: (970) 400-4780

Tonya VanBeber

Term ends: 12/31/2022
email: countycouncil@weldgov.com
Phone: (970) 400-4780

Elijah Hatch

Term ends: 12/31/2024
email: countycouncil@weldgov.com
Phone: (970) 400-4780


The five-member Board of County Commissioners is the statutory head of Weld County's government. Two commissioners are elected At-Large and three are elected from the district in which they reside.


As is the case with all elected county officials, commissioners must be at least 21 years of age and have resided in the county for at least one year prior to their election. Commissioners are voted in for a four-year term, and if re-elected, can serve up to three consecutive four-year terms under charter provisions. Their elected position must be their primary employment during the term they serve.

The Board meets at 9:00 a.m. each Monday and Wednesday in the Commissioner’s Assembly Room of the Administration Building, 1150 O Street, Greeley.

Mike Freeman_edited.jpg

Mike Freeman

District 1

Third Term: 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024

Email: mfreeman@weldgov.com

Phone: (970) 336-7204

Scott James.jpg

Scott James, Pro-Tem

District 2

First Term: 01/01/2019 - 12/31/2022

Email: sjames@weldgov.com

Phone: (970) 336-7204

Saine-Lori (1)_edited.jpg

Lori Saine

District 3

First Term: 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024

Email: lsaine@weldgov.com

Phone: (970) 336-7204

Steve Moreno.jpg

Steve Moreno

At Large

Second Term: 01/01/2019 - 12/31/2022

Email: smoreno@weldgov.com

Phone: (970) 336-7204

Buck-Perry (1)_edited.jpg

Perry Buck


First Term: 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024

Email: pbuck@weldgov.com

Phone: (970) 336-7204


Brenda Dones

County Assessor 

Term: 01/01/19 – 12/31/22 
Email: bdones@weldgov.com
Phone: 970-400-3650

The Weld County Assessor is an elected officer of the county. The Assessor serves a four-year term and is elected in the county general election by the voters; if re-elected, a person can serve in the role of County Assessor for up to three consecutive four-year terms. The constitutional duty of the County Assessor is to evaluate all property in the county for property tax purposes.

Carly Koppes.jpg

Carly Koppes

County Clerk & Recorder

Term: 01/01/19 – 12/31/22 
Email: ckoppes@weldgov.com
Phone: 970-304-6530

The Weld County Clerk and Recorder has the responsibility for the following departments in county government: Recording Department, Election Department, Motor Vehicle Department, the Southeast Weld Branch Office, and the Southwest Weld Branch Office.

Steve Reams

County Sheriff

Term: 1/1/2019 - 12/31/2022
Email: sreams@weldgov.com
Phone: (970) 356-4015

The Weld County Sheriff's duties are established by Colorado Statutes and the Weld County Home Rule Charter and include, but are not limited to, maintenance of a county jail, service and execution of all processes, writs, precepts, and orders of the County and District Courts or presented for service by citizens pursuant to civil procedure, transportation of prisoners, security of the courthouse, search and rescue, control of grassland fires, and the investigation of crimes or breach of the peace. Some of these duties are confined to areas outside incorporated fire districts while other duties include the entire county and its citizens without regard to political subdivision boundaries.

Michael J. Rourke

District Attorney 

Term: 1/10/17 - 12/31/20
Email: weldda@weldgov.com
Phone 970-400-4750

The District Attorney represents the people of the State of Colorado in all state criminal actions brought within the Nineteenth Judicial District, which coincides with the boundaries of Weld County. The office prosecutes both felony and misdemeanor charges and is composed of several divisions to meet the needs of the public.



Debora Scheffel

Colorado State Board of Education

4th Congressional District
Current Term: March 2018 – January 2025


University of Colorado Regent

4th Congressional District, Republican, Current Term 2017-23



University of Colorado Regent

At Large

Current Term 2017-23

Colorado State House Representatives

Tonya VanBeber.jpg

Tonya VanBeber

House District 48

E: Tonya.Van.Beber.house@state.co.us

P: 303-866-2943 

Mike Lynch.jpg

Mike Lynch

House District 49

E: Mike.Lynch.house@state.co.us

P: 303-866-2907 


Dan Woog

House District 63

E: Dan.Woog.house@state.co.us  

P: 303-866-2906

Colorado State Senate Representatives



Senate District 1

E: senatorsonnenberg@gmail.com

P: 303-866-6360



Senate District 13

E: john.cooke.senate@state.co.us

P: 303-866-4451

Barb Kirkmeyer.png


Senate District 23 

E: barbara.kirkmeyer.senate@state.co.us

P: 303-866-4876 

United States House of Representatives